Al(m)as, Part 6

New to this story? Read Part 1.


The next day the sun was shining bright, with no trace of yesterday’s dismal rain clouds. Last night, Patrick and Nellie had waited in the park for a couple hours, then snuck back into the house. Their father was sprawled on the couch, snoring loudly. Patrick hoped he wouldn’t remember any of the night’s events when he woke.

For once, his wish was granted. That Sunday morning was uneventful, almost peaceful. His father complained of a splitting headache and remained immobile on the couch, not even bothering to get up to open a new bottle.

Ding-a-ling-a-ling! Ding-a-ling-a-ling! Patrick’s phone shattered the tranquility.

“Shut that thing off,” his father groaned. “Headache!”

Patrick hastily picked up and went upstairs.

It was his friend Mark, in a panic. “I broke it! I can’t believe I broke it! You have to help me, dude. Please!”

“Whoa, Mark, calm down. What happened?” Patrick said.

“I wanted to go get my mom a present for her birthday tomorrow, but my dad is at a conference for the weekend,” Mark blubbered. “I forgot to go shopping with him before he left, so when my mom left to do errands, I figured I’d just borrow his bike and run over to Hammond’s. But on the way back I kinda got distracted and um…ran into a tree and now it’s broken and it’s his super expensive bike that’s like his favorite thing in the world and he’s gonna kill me! Please, Patrick. You’re the only person I can think of who might be able to fix it and my parents are both gonna be home soon!”

“O-kayyy. I guess I can try. Is it alright if I bring my little sister with me?” Patrick said.

“Nellie? No way! Are you kidding me? I need this done ASAP, pronto, rightnowbeforemyparentsKILLme! No distractions!”

“I can’t just leave her at home,” Patrick objected.

“Come on, please, she’ll be fine! It’ll be quick, like an hour tops! Please!” Mark begged.

Patrick considered for a moment. When his dad got headaches, he usually didn’t move — or drink — for the next few hours. It shouldn’t be a problem. “Fine,” he said. “I’ll be right over.”


Continue to Part 7.

Thoughts? Please share!

