Canción del baile de la vida

English translation follows.


Mi vida: la danza bella
En la que no sé los pasos.
En cielo, soy una estrella
Hasta caigo y en tierra yazco.

Mis piernas rápido bailan
Y yo con luz brillo.
Mis pies torpes tropiezan
Y yo me apago.

Sería un baile tan hermoso
Si supiera cómo bailarlo.
¿Este esfuerzo lastimoso?
Solamente hay que quitarlo.

Mis piernas rápido bailan
Y yo con luz brillo.
Mis pies torpes tropiezan
Y yo me apago.

No soy una bailarina:
No lo quiero ser.
Porque mi baile no es fino,
Yo no quiero ser.

Mis piernas rápido bailan
Y yo con luz brillo.
Mis pies torpes tropiezan
Y yo me apago.


My life: the beautiful dance
To which I don’t know the steps.
In the sky, I am a star
Until I fall and lie in the earth.

My legs dance quickly
And I shine with light.
My clumsy feet trip
And my light goes out.

It would be such a lovely dance
If I knew how to dance it
This painful struggle?
All that’s left is to be rid of it.

My legs dance quickly
And I shine with light.
My clumsy feet trip
And my light goes out.

I am not a dancer:
I do not want to be.
Because my dance is not refined,
I do not want to be.

My legs dance quickly
And I shine with light.
My clumsy feet trip
And my light goes out.


Written in October 2012 (during Chemistry class, if it matters). I found this one exceptionally hard to translate. How does it come across in English?

Thoughts? Please share!

