Public posts of affection

Am I the only one who gets disgusted by PDA on Facebook? Is this a legitimate concern or is it just a product of being single and bitter?

Exhibit A. Gross overuse of hearts to punctuate every sentence ❤ ❤ ❤

Exhibit B. Panting like a sycophantic puppy dog over EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. of the boyfriend’s/girlfriend’s posts and/or responding to whatever inane thing the boyfriend/girlfriend said with completely non-sequitur “I love you ❤ “s.

Exhibit C. An inordinate number of couple photos. Especially while kissing.

I’m not talking about the normal Facebookers who occasionally express appreciation and admiration for their partners. I’m talking about the couples who litter my newsfeed with their little Cupidfairy droppings. If I wanted to gag while listening to your whispered sweet nothings, I would have gone out to a cozy little cafe on Valentine’s Day. You know what? I didn’t. I chilled at home eating chocolate and watching Game of Thrones.

Come on, guys. Get a room. There’s a reason Facebook has a “Message” option.

2 thoughts on “Public posts of affection

  1. I feel the same way… I can’t tell if they’re disgustingly cutesty, I’m lonely or both. But there are totally times I wonder why couples aren’t using the message option.. Or if they’re trying to make people jealous.

    • Hah, I thought I responded to this, sorry! I think it’s both. And the jealousy thing is a good theory, although I sometimes wonder if they’re just so wrapped up in themselves that they don’t notice how disgustingly cutesy they’re being.

Thoughts? Please share!

