Naming the infinite

I'm still a mysterious blog fairy, don't worry.

Don’t be too heart-broken. I’m still a mysterious blog fairy.

When I started my blog, I made my username “beholdtheinfinite” to match the blog title, and I saw no reason to display a name different than that one. When I started my blog, I didn’t know whether this day would ever come. Well, hold on to your hats, folks, because

TODAY IS THE DAY.

Oof. Gimme a sec. My heart is going a mile a minute. In. Out. In. Out. Breeeeathe. In. Out. In. Out.

Okay.

I’ll admit I liked the mystery. Still do. I got a little surge of sadistic pleasure anytime I saw a Very Inspiring Blogger Award nominator struggle with the fact that there was no name to accompany the blog. Just…infinity.

Now, you’ll notice, the author name under the blog posts has changed. There hasn’t been a change of ownership, don’t worry. It’s still me. But now I have an actual name.

It’s not my real-world name, although it’s based on it. I couldn’t unveil the mystery that completely. But it’s a name, and it’ll do for now.

12 thoughts on “Naming the infinite

    • You can take all the credit for being my inspiration on this one. Since I semi-sorta revealed my name already, my love for your About page introduction sealed the deal: “Hi there! Tonight I’ll be Amelia Groves, but the world still knows me as something less exciting.”

      I’m glad to hear you’re glad, since it’s a weird transition for me and probably for some readers! I think we can handle it, though 😉

      • I think, as you mentioned, it’ll just make you more approachable – because now people won’t have to struggle with what to call you (Infinite? Behold? The? Infinity? Buzz Lightyear??) and may find they get to know you better because of this.

        Ironically, I’m still not ready to reveal my real name yet… hehe. 🙂

  1. Unless I’ve become close (you know, blogging-close, that is) with someone, when/if I nominate them for an award I only use their blog name. Even if I know their real name or username. I don’t know why.. I think it’s because I want to bring more attention to their blog than them.

    That being said, the only time I care about knowing someone’s name is when I can’t figure out which pronoun to use. I think we should all have an “I identify as [this gender]” in our “About” sections, to lessen confusion. Haha.

    • It would certainly be simpler if people didn’t have to hunt down names for awards, wouldn’t it? And yet I’ve gotten all sorts of, “Sorry, can’t find a name, but she’s great!” comments on awards. Haha. Until today (given the fact that “Maria” is a pretty clear-cut girl’s name) I did specify on my about page that I was a female engineering student. Because it is pretty weird to try to talk about a blog author without knowing the proper pronoun,isn’t it? 🙂

Thoughts? Please share!

