Mini-Me Monday: What do you want to be…?

What do you want to be when you grow up?

That’s such a hard question to answer!  But as I come across various jobs which appeal to me, I’ll write them down and then I’ll have something to say!

  • Find a cure for the common cold
  • Fireworks designer
  • Vintner
  • Graphic artist
  • Computer programmer
  • Teacher
  • Cancer Researcher
  • Doctor
  • Forensic Scientist
  • School Counselor
  • Invent something amazing and never work, just be a stay-at-home mom or something
  • Hermit
  • Before I figure out what I want to be…I know where I want to GO! Stanford!
  • An Engineer (goes with the “invent something” plan)

The above is an ongoing list I’ve had for quite some time, roughly in chronological order. Fireworks designer still sounds awesome. I’ve always dreamed of seeing Gandalf-like fireworks in our night sky.

And I live in wine country, so vintner’s not all that crazy. But there was really a point where I was interested in being a school counselor?? Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I could never see myself in that position. I’m not patient enough by far.

Hermit, on the other hand, I could do that…she writes, glancing down at her disheveled bathrobe and realizing that she’s definitely skipping that party tonight. Haha. I can be animated and social, but it takes a looooooot of energy. Imagine how much trouble I’d save myself by being a hermit!

Engineer? Looking more likely by the year, at least to look at my schooling. I’ve already posted about my love for extreme sports and determination to fly in a wing suit, the epiphany where I discovered that aeronautical engineering might be the path for me. Well, guess what? I might have even figured out my thesis. If you have a Netflix account and any interest in the concept of human flight, watch BIRDMEN: The Original Dream of Flight. It’s a concise summary of the history of human, bird-like flight, and it might have just given me my calling. A wing suit flyer and scientist named Geo Robson died before he could finish his research into true human flight. I’d like to finish it. But before I start planning my Master’s thesis, let’s see how the first day of engineering undergrad goes today, shall we?

Oh, and Stanford. I might admit to having a lurking desire to go to (or at least be admitted by) Stanford University. Still. Almost four years after my dreams to go there were shattered by their early decision rejection. But we won’t talk about that, because I’m happy with where I ended up, and my Stanford rejection complex is starting to flare up again.

Doctor was obligatory because my dad is one. Forensics, well, doesn’t any kid who watches crime shows want to be a forensic scientist? And no one likes colds, so why not just cure those for a living?

I’m surprised lawyer never made it on here, because I considered it briefly before my lawyer brother-in-law (hey, look, a double entendre!) warned me off it. Seems cool in the movies at least, plus money.

Then again, I could just invent something awesome and live out the rest of my days idle and rich.

Thoughts? Please share!

