The Sound of Violence

hello darkness my old friend
I wish this haze would never end
because a vision softly creeping
has left me broken and weeping
and the vision that was planted in my brain
left me insane
struck to the ground
by violence

in restless dreams I walked alone
saw the blood upon the stones
neath the halo of a street lamp
I saw her dying in the cold and damp
and my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
red in the night
struck to the ground
by violence

and in the naked light I saw
ten men and women maybe more
people talking without speaking
people seeing without feeling
people righting wrongs
from justice not one spared
no one dared
leave some unfound
by violence

and the people bowed and prayed
to the bloody god they’d made
and the sign flashed out its warning
among the mob that was forming
and the sign said
the path of pure vengeance is a thirst you can never sate
just breeds more hate
that can be found
in violence

fools said I you do not know
violence like a cancer grows
hear my words that I might teach you
take my arms that I might reach you
but my words like silent rain drops fell
and echoed
in that hell
of violence

4 thoughts on “The Sound of Violence

    • Aww, thank you! I’ve loved The Sound of Silence since I was a kid, but this was the first time I’ve been inspired to do a spinoff…not sure where it came from, but it’s an interesting twist on a great song, don’tcha think?

Thoughts? Please share!

