Always There

I felt scared and alone
and you were always there
I felt isolated, on my own
and you were always there

I felt ugly and insecure
and you were always there
I felt hesitant and unsure
and you were always there

I felt flattered and teased
and you were always there
I was surprised and pleased
and you were always there

I felt my loneliness decrease
and you were always there
I was content and at peace
and you were always there

I was happy and carefree
and you were always there
I was in love and free
and you were always there

I felt glad but nervous
and you were always there
Was it love or lip service?
and you were always there

I was betrayed and broken
and you were always there
All the sweet nothings we’d spoken
and you were always there

I was abandoned and distraught
and you were always there
I tried to hide from all thought
and you were always there

I tried to move on
and you were always there
…I did move on
and you were always there

I found new love
and you were always there
I tried to rise above
and you were always there

I wanted to run away
and you were always there
During work and during play
and you were always there

I’d kiss my new lover
and you were always there
I’d look over my shoulder
and you were always there

I wanted to be left alone
and you were always there
I wanted to stand on my own
and you were always there

I felt hunted and insecure
and you were always there
I felt threatened and unsure
and you were always there

I just wanted to run
and you were always there
I wanted you gone
and you were always there

I want to be me
and you are always there
I want to be free
and you…

…are always there

3 thoughts on “Always There

    • At first blush, maybe, but not necessarily. I was exploring the theme of being so obsessed and/or connected to a person that they are always there, mentally and possibly physically–early in the relationship when it’s just a crush, during the relationship when you feel totally in love, and even as the relationship starts to go sour and breaks your heart, even as you try to move on and forget about them, even then. They’re always there, a state that starts as comforting reassurance and becomes stifling and even frightening.

  1. Jesus, Maria. That hits me in a very soft spot. Beautiful work–I’m going to take the time to go back and review your writing over the next few weeks. I miss it and all your intricate thoughts. This is so achingly sad and beautiful. It hits close to home.

Thoughts? Please share!

