La música

November 2013
inspired by Pablo Neruda’s “La poesía
English translation follows.


Allí estaba sentada, en una noche fría de otoño,
cuando vino la música
y me cautivó.
No sé por qué, ni cómo lo hizo,
no sé si fue por causa o destino,
pero vino de la oscuridad más negra,
vino sin forma,
sin intento,
y fuerte como una tormenta violenta.

Yo era controlada por el huracán,
no podría mover sin que sus dedos me tocaran.
La música me encontró,
me rodeó,
y me entró,
y mi alma cantaba con su ritmo.

Rodeada por la melodía
en la noche estrellada con notas de plata pura,
allí yo giraba,
una marioneta
débil y pequeña.
Y sentí su toque suave:
me acercó,
creciendo de la tierra,
subiendo a mis piernas,
abrazando mi cuerpo.
Mi boca abrió
y canté las primeras notas vacilantes
temblando con miedo
temblando con júbilo.
Como un pájaro liberado, mi voz voló por los cielos
y de repente comprendí el sentido de
oír
ver
tocar
vivir
amar.
Y me sentí la unidad de todas las cosas.
Grité, y el mundo me contestó.

Una parte minúscula,
una parte crítica,
una parte de lo infinito,
aquí estoy yo.
Con la música arriba, abajo, detrás y delante,
alimentada y sostenida por ella,
así vivo yo,
con una comprensión obtenida del poder misterioso
de la música de la noche.


There I was sitting, on a cold autumn night,
when the music came
and captured me.
I do not know why, nor how it was done,
I do not know if it was for a reason or simply fate
but it came from the blackest darkness
it came without form
without intention
and strong as a violent storm.

I was controlled by the hurricane,
I could not move without its fingers caressing me
The music found me,
surrounded me,
and entered me,
and my soul sang with its rhythm.

Surrounded by the melody
in the night starred with notes of pure silver
there I was spinning,
a puppet
weak and small.
And I felt its smooth touch:
it approached me,
growing from the earth,
creeping up my legs,
embracing my body.
My mouth opened
and I sang the first faltering notes
trembling with fear
trembling with joy
Like a freed bird, my voice flew through the sky
and suddenly I understood the meaning of
hearing
seeing
touching
living
loving.
And I felt the oneness of everything.
I shouted, and the world answered me.

A miniscule part,
A critical part,
A part of the infinite,
here I am.
With the music above, below, behind and in front
so do I live,
with an understanding obtained from the mysterious power
of the music of the night.

2 thoughts on “La música

  1. Pingback: La Música by Maria, New Poet and Blogger of “Behold The Infinite” | The Winter Bites My Bones

Thoughts? Please share!